Beginning a new life

So we are training to be drone pilots in the bush for conservation objectives including anti-poaching.

It’s pretty phenomenal to be able to use my past skills as an electrical engineer together with my new bush skills to do some good for this world and do our part to protect our heritage. 

Week 1 assessment. 

Day 0. Fly to Zimbabwe to work in one of their major national parks.

Day 2. Got called to investigate a poaching incident. Shit just got super real super fast. 😐

Day 4. set up to fly within 100m of 2 male lions and 2 female lions resting in longish grass. They were watching us the whole time until they decided to go hunt for some dinner (elsewhere luckily!). 

Am loving being an electrical engineer in the bush. I am totally wierded out that I’m using my telecoms, signals and DSP knowledge in the bush! 📡🔧:mrgreen: loving also being able to be out in the wild every day and learning to be a pilot is pretty freaking awesome!

Life in the bush in some ways is better than expected but we don’t have hot water and sometimes the shower doesn’t work so I’m showering under the bath tap. Luckily it’s summer and I don’t mind cold showers and I’m used to growing up without the hot water working too. 

At least the electricity works and surprisingly we’ve got the best internet signal I’ve had in 7 months… It just costs a lot. 

Now if the Internet would just stay at reasonable prices and not inflate 1000%💵 overnight again I might actually be able to relearn the details and learn newer things too!

One thought on “Beginning a new life”

  1. Awesome Maggie !

    This is what all the training was about. Now the real thing starts. Your pictures a just out of this world. I just love love each one I receive – thank you darling !

    Always on my mind in in my heart. ❤💙💚💛💜

    On Sat, Jan 14, 2017 at 4:51 AM, wildlifechange wrote:

    > Mags posted: “So we are training to be drone pilots in the bush for > conservation objectives including anti-poaching. It’s pretty phenomenal to > be able to use my past skills as an electrical engineer together with my > new bush skills to do some good for this world and d” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

